Skip to content

Faces of Nelnet: Dana Kelly, Regional Director, Nelnet Partner Solutions (South)

January 17, 2012

Dana Kelly, Southern Regional Director, Nelnet Partner Solutions

Dawn: What is your main focus right now?  I know you’re on some projects for Nelnet; can you give me some insight on those?

Dana: TRAINING!!  With Webinar Wednesdays proving successful and Money Mondays gaining ground in Financial Literacy, Nelnet has to continue to be the leader in training initiatives.  We have some interesting things planned for New Aid Officers and those who want a refresher.  Look for Nelnet to continue to provide exciting new opportunities for training while keeping Webinar Wednesdays an ongoing focus.

Dawn: Have you had any memorable moments over the past year work-wise that you’d like to share? 

Dana: Webinar Wednesdays have provided me so many experiences – from technical glitches to connecting people across the country who have like needs or processes.  I would not have imagined that a webinar could be turned into a personal training experience but where there is a will, there’s a way.  Add to that, students who are so open to learning about financial literacy and eager to put examples into practice. It has been a very rewarding year.

Dawn: What is your favorite work-related iPad app that you can’t live without?

Dana: As a fairly new iPad user, I would say that GoodReader is what I am using the most… 

Dawn: What do you see as the biggest challenge schools are facing right now?

Dana: I think it is the same challenge they have faced for years…doing more with less.  More administrative oversight and less personnel/time in which to do it…The environment of change is relatively consistent.  How’s that for an oxymoron!  But our school colleagues take it in stride because it’s the world they live in.  Regulatory changes the past few years have created administrative requirements that must be addressed.  So, challenge is the aid officer’s middle name with regard to staying on top of it all.

Dawn: What is your best recent read or CD you’ve purchased?

Dana: Well, I don’t purchase CDs anymore. I just download specific songs.  So, I can’t pick just one…  As for reading, I can’t say I enjoyed The Shack as much as I appreciated its message.  If you can get through the disturbing parts, it’s well worth what you come away with in my opinion.

Dawn: What was the most recent meal you cooked that turned out awful? 

Dana: That would be the buffalo wings I tried to make on the opening Sunday of football season… there is a reason so many places sell them!!  I will be buying mine from now on!!!!

Dawn Knight, Western Regional Director, Nelnet Partner Solutions

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

