Skip to content

Faces of Nelnet: Kyra Garcia, Outreach Advisor, School Service Center

July 10, 2012

Kyra Garcia, Outreach Advisor, Nelnet School Service Center

Jodi Miller: What does “superior customer service” mean to you?

Kyra Garcia:  I would have to say that this statement means always exceeding the customers’ expectations.  When someone calls in, it is our job to leave the customer with a good impression of our company.

Jodi: Please describe a typical day for you.

Kyra: A typical day for me is pretty normal.  I get my daughter up for day care and head to work. Depending on the day, I will either reach out to schools for a specific campaign or take incoming calls.  After my work day is over, I either relax or I do homework.  I am not that exciting during the work week; the weekends are when I get out and see the world!

Jodi: How does your job provide the greatest impact on Financial Aid offices?

Kyra:  Being on the School Service Center Outreach team, I feel my biggest impact is opening up the lines of communication with Nelnet and the schools.  A lot of schools that I talk to haven’t really been familiarized with Nelnet as a servicer, and it is nice to start-up that relationship.  I also inform the schools of the tools and resources that we have available for them; they seem very thankful for the free products and services we have to offer.

Jodi: What has been your biggest work-related challenge during the past six months?

Kyra:  I would have to say my biggest challenge is making sure I am up-to-date to date on all of the changes going on in the student loan industry and the school’s perspective.  Coming from the borrower service center, there are new things I have learned about such as cohort default rates, aggregate loan limits,  etc. Now that I am in the School Service Center, I make sure to stay educated on these topics.

Jodi: Tell me about your favorite vacation experience.

Kyra:  My favorite vacation experience was a trip to California.  I visited my father’s side of the family and I had a blast! I hope to visit again this November.

Jodi: What are you most looking forward to doing this summer?

Kyra: Summertime for me means another birthday and just spending time outside.  I plan on taking the summer off from school this year, so I can vacation a little and possibly go to Puerto Rico!

Jodi:  If you could describe yourself with one word, what would it be?

Kyra:  Silly

 

Jodi Miller, Western Regional Director & Social Media Strategist, Nelnet Partner Solutions

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

