Skip to content

Apps for Life: CamCard, A Business Card Reader

October 10, 2012

Do you have an assortment of business cards lying on your desk?

So, I was in my husband’s office the other day…it was littered with business cards…everywhere…on the floor, on the desk, on the printer…piles of them.  I asked him why he had so many lying around.  He said he had not had time to enter them in his address book.  Well, being the more organized better-half, I suggested an app I have been using…CamCard business card reader.

I found it a few months ago in my mission to simplify and organize my office (and life).  Using your smart phone, you can scan business cards.  And that’s not all!  It scans the image of the business card and then recognizes the text on the card.  The app recognizes what field the information would belong to, and adds the information to your address book!  How cool and efficient is that?  Through the app, I can pull up the business card and start a call, text, or email, and share the contact information and card with others through email, SMS, or QRCode.

Accuracy?  It’s pretty darn accurate!  I admit I have had a couple of issues. However, I wouldn’t say it’s from the application itself as it is to the “fanciness” of the business card.  I found the textured cards have a higher risk of not being read correctly.  However, those errors can be edited quickly and, in the end, it is much faster than entering the whole card manually!

Now, let’s get rid of those business cards stuck in your Rolodexes, walls, and monitors…make those smartphones work for you!

CamCard is available on the iPhone, Android, and Blackberry.

Raina Chezem, Midwest Regional Director, Nelnet Partner Solutions

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    October 17, 2012 5:06 am

    grt post thanks for it!!

Leave a Reply

