Skip to content

Thought for the Weekend: Why do people do what they do?

March 18, 2011

(by Dawn Knight, Western Regional Director) 

Are people’s actions (positive or negative) caused by what they might experience during the day?   Or, are some people just more kind than others? 

I tend to follow the “You get what you reward” mantra.  Haven’t you noticed that people respond / react differently based on how you might treat them?  It sounds simple – and it is – but I think we often get caught up in ‘What’s in it for me’ mentality instead of ‘What can I do for others’.

With this being said, this series will focus on my kindness journal – but not in the way you might think.  This will focus on the random acts of kindness that happen TO me, not from me.  I’ll also share some random acts of kindness each column that you can do at home, in the workplace, anywhere… and at any time.  You might be surprised how viral that act of kindness can become.

To me:

Over the weekend, I was walking from my car to the gym while trying to carry my Spinning shoes, back-pack, keys, while not allowing my base-ball hat to blow off my head with the windy Denver weather that particular day.  Women, you know how it is when you put on a hat – you are committed. 

 I succeeded at getting into the gym with everything in tact…but, I had a pleasant surprise waiting for me when I got back to my car.  There was a note underneath my windshield wiper with one of my gloves.  The note simply said that they saw me drop my glove as they were driving away and couldn’t get my attention before I walked inside – so, here it is.  WOW!  That made my day because I love that pair of gloves.

From you:

Bring a cake or cookies to someone.  Package it up like you would for a special occasion and then hand it to someone at work or to one of your neighbors.  I bet you’ll put a smile on their face!

Inspire where you can….

Dawn Knight, Rocky Mountain & Western Regional Director (AZ, CO, ID, NV, ND, OR, WA, WY), Nelnet Partner Solutions

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

